» Website

» Download his biography

» Media

» Contact

 

Photo credit: coming soon

ANTONIO SANTANA
Composer

 

The Great Composer Antonio Santana is unique in his musical color, as were the illustrious Mozart, Beethoven and Bach (to name a few) who each had their own essence. Maestro Santana's color is rich and distinct by its velvet, often purple in its seduction.

 

Maestro Santana is classically trained and is well known for his vocal, musical and operatic works.

 

Thanks to his Brazilian origins which give him enormous flexibility, he has several strings to his bow. He can write symphonic music, chamber music, concert works, film music, advertising, educational music for children, various pieces for all instruments, vocal music, music for strings, religious music and also light music. He is therefore at ease in all areas.

 

His recent engagements mark the year 2019: in the United States, in Copenhagen, in Oslo, Montreal, in Italy and in Greece and also in France at the Opéra d'Avignon, at the Gordes and Montperreux festivals also at the Salle Gaveau on November 14 and at the end of November in Quimper.

 

Other concerts with great success presented in 2020 with La Voix des Océans on February 9 at Pont L'Abbé as well as in other cities of Brittany in March, April, June, July. La Voix de l'Amazonie was performed on January 30, 2020 at Carnegie Hall, March 7, 2020 in the Church of the Holy Trinity in Paris was performed: La voix des Océans. At the end of June 2020 carte blanche is given to Antonio Santana at the Russian Orthodox Cultural Center in Paris, on July 4, 2020 creation in Kiev of De Profundis… October 10, 2020: Requiem: Chant de lumière in the Cathedral of Versailles… but since March 13, 2020 the Covid 19 epidemic is in action and the concerts are canceled one after the other. There will still be a Virtual Recital on July 25, 2020 at the FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache des Grandes Laurentides in Canada with renowned Soprano Falcon Sharon Azrieli and pianist Jonathan Monro in melodies by Antonio Santana: Il pleure dans mon coeur, Berceuse, Beija me. Also took place with great success in Moscow, on March 21, 2021, at the L'Arte del Arco festival, creation of La Suite d'été for Violin and string orchestra with the violinist Graf Mourja, Grand Prix Master of Monaco as well as the November 27, 2021 in the Cathedral of St Louis in Versailles, the Requiem Chant de lumière.

 

Upcoming engagements, the concerts which could not be given since April 2020 will be rescheduled in 2021 but the dates are still a little vague and imprecise, creation of De Profundis for choirs and orchestra, creation of La Suite Fantaisiste for trumpet and orchestra with the great trumpeter Guy Touvron in November 2021 in the Church of the Trinity in Paris, in Kiev De Profundis and La Voix des Océans in December 2021, on November 13 or 24 in St Louis Cathedral in Versailles the Requiem Chant de Lumière.

 

It was in 1994 that he put his cantata Un chant pour la planète on paper, for large choir, soloists and orchestra. This moving and inspired work has been performed on several occasions in Paris, such as at the Grande Galerie de l'Evolution, at the Natural History Museum in Paris, in the province and abroad with huge success.

 

He had to put aside his desire for a pianistic career to finally let all the music that had resided in him since his earliest childhood and to which he never listened an ear, burst forth. Literally invaded by musical ideas, he composes relentlessly without worrying about any aesthetic whatsoever letting himself be guided only by his inner voice. Curious by nature, he is also interested in Philosophy, History and Theology as well as in the discovery of civilizations around the world for the sake of artistic development.

 

 

Lover of the voice, he sets to music poems by Baudelaire, Verlaine among others as well as melodies inspired by Brazilian landscapes for soprano and piano, baritone and piano ...

Among his works we can also cite: Rapsodie aux Portes du Désert for tenor and string orchestra, Cycle Antique for contralto, cello and piano, Brazilian Suite for cello and piano, Burlesque Pastiche in the form of Tarentella for violin and piano, Cycle Mystique for solo piano, Miroir de femmes twelve pieces for mezzo soprano and piano, Miniatures in two volumes for young pianists, Cantata Evolution (dedicated to Professor Geneviève Meurgues Grande Galerie de l'Evolution at the Museum of Natural History in Paris) for choir, soprano , two harps, piano and percussion, and many other pieces for violin, cello, flute and voice. On his desk, there is an Opera ...

 

On June 1 and 3, 2014, the Requiem Chant de lumière, written in tribute to the victims of the Rio-Paris air disaster, brought together 300 choristers and the French Oratorio Orchestra with soprano Julie Cherrier and baritone Jean-Louis Serre under the baton of Jean-Pierre Lo Ré in world premiere.

 

On April 30, 2015 was released the CD Voyages with works for piano, violin, cello with Anton Martynov violin, Daniel Propper piano and Mark Drobinsky cello.

 

On December 21, 2017 the musicologist Alain Duault presented, at the Bedford Hotel in Paris, the recital Miroir de femmes with Kira Parfeevets on the piano and Anton Martynov on the violin surrounded by the singers: Michelle Canniccioni, Blerta Zhegu, Marion Lebégue, Delphine Haidan to whom In 2018, among others, Inva Mula will join forces  for the recording of the CD Miroir de femmes prefaced and also presented by Alain Duault during a concert at the Rachmaninov Conservatory in Paris on November 13, 2018.

 

His meeting with the marine biologist Pierre Mollo, specialist in plankton, gave birth to an ambitious project around a Symphonic Suite dedicated to the Sea: La Voix des Océans. This work aims to merge music and high technology. It was created on July 22, 2018, on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the royal city of Port Louis in Morbihan within the Citadel. There were 500 people invited, the concert was hailed as "grandiose" "breathtaking" in the words of the local press Ouest-France and Le Télégramme.

 

Born in Brazil, at the age of 17 he obtained 1st prize in Piano, History of Music, Harmony and Musical Writing at the Mario de Andrade Conservatory in Sao Paulo.

 

He gives recitals in several cities of Brazil at the same time as he perfected himself with Alfredo Cerquinho and Magda Tagliaferro, one of the greatest pianists and pedagogue of the 20th century. In 1985, he joined the European Conservatory of Paris in the piano class of Anna Stella Schic. He also works with Françoise Levechin on analysis and writing. Anxious to perfect his theoretical studies, he studied the Treaty of Composition by Vincent D’Indy as well as the Treatises of Orchestration by Berlioz and Rimsky Korsakov supervised by Michel Philippot.

 

The LM Opéra Agency is proud and honored to represent Maestro Antonio Santana on an international scale.

TRISTESSE

Deuxième mouvement de la « suite d'été »  | Antonio Santana

sous la direction de Rustem Abyazov et Graf Mourra violon.

EXTRAIT DE CHANT DE LUMIÈRE

Laidanha1 | Antonio Santana chanté par Jean-Louis Serre.

PRÉLUDE

Concert à l'église de la Trinité à Paris.

LA FORÊT D'AMAZONIE

Concert à l'église de la Trinité à Paris.

IL PLEURE DANS MON COEUR

Miroir de femmes  |  Antonio Santana

Blerta Zhegu soprano, Anton Martynov violon, Kyra Parfeevets piano.

SUITE BRÉSILIENNE

Lamento - Miroir de femmes  |  Antonio Santana

Anton Martynov violon, Kyra Parfeevets piano.

SUITE BRÉSILIENNE

Rala Bucho - Miroir de femmes - Antonio Santana

Anton Martynov violon, Kyra Parfeevets piano

Crédit photo : à venir

ANTONIO SANTANA
Compositeur

Le Grand Compositeur Antonio Santana est unique par sa couleur musicale comme étaient différenciés les illustres Mozart, Beethoven et Bach (pour ne nommer que ceux-ci) qui avaient chacun leur essence. La couleur de Maestro Santana est riche et distincte par son velours souvent pourpre dans sa séduction.

 

Maestro Santana a reçu une formation classique, il est bien connu pour ses œuvres vocales, musicales et opératiques.

 

Grâce à ses origines brésiliennes qui lui donnent énormément de souplesse, il a plusieurs cordes à son arc. Il peut écrire de la Musique Symphonique, Musique de Chambre, Œuvres Concertantes, Musique de Film, Musique didactique pour enfants, pièces diverses pour tous les instruments, Musique vocale, Musique pour cordes, Musique religieuse, également Musique légère et pour publicité. Il est donc à son aise dans tous les domaines.

 

Ses récents engagements jalonnent l’année 2019 : aux Etats-Unis, à Copenhague, à Oslo, Montréal, en Italie et en Grèce et aussi en France à l’Opéra d’Avignon, aux festivals de Gordes et de Montperreux également à la Salle Gaveau à Paris le 14 novembre et fin novembre à Quimper.

 

D’autres concerts avec grand succès présentés en 2020 avec La Voix des Océans le 9 février à Pont L’Abbé ainsi que dans d’autres villes de Bretagne en mars, avril, juin, juillet ...  La Voix de l’Amazonie a été exécutée le 30 janvier 2020 au Carnegie Hall, le 7 mars 2020 en l’église de la Sainte Trinité à Paris a été interprétée : la Voix des Océans. Fin juin 2020 carte blanche est donnée à Antonio Santana au Centre culturel orthodoxe Russe à Paris, le 4 juillet 2020 création à Kiev du De Profundis …10 octobre 2020 : Requiem Chant de lumière en la Cathédrale de Versailles…mais depuis le 13 mars 2020 l’épidémie de Covid 19 agit et les concerts s’annulent les uns après les autres... Aura quand même lieu un Récital Virtuel le 25 juillet 2020 au FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache des Grandes Laurentides au Canada avec la Soprano Falcon de renom Sharon Azrieli et le pianiste Jonathan Monro dans des mélodies d’Antonio Santana : Il pleure dans mon Cœur, Berceuse, Beija me. A aussi eu lieu, avec grand succès, à Kazan en Bielorussie, le 21 mars 2021, au festival L’Arte del Arco, la création de La Suite d’été pour Violon et orchestre à cordes avec le violoniste Graf Mourja, Grand Prix Master de Monaco.

 

Les concerts qui n’ont pu être donnés depuis avril 2020 seront reprogrammés en 2021 mais les dates sont encore un peu flottantes et imprécises, création du De Profundis pour chœurs et orchestre, création de la Suite fantaisiste pour trompette et orchestre avec le grand trompettiste Guy Touvron   en novembre 2021 en l’église de la Trinité à Paris, à Kiev De Profundis et La Voix des Océans en décembre 2021, le 28 novembre 2021, en la cathédrale St Louis à Versailles, devrait résonner le Requiem Chant de Lumière.

 

C’est en 1994 qu’il couche sur le papier sa cantate Un Chant pour la Planète, pour grand chœur, solistes et orchestre. Cette œuvre émouvante et inspirée a été interprétée à plusieurs reprises à Paris, comme à la Grande Galerie de l’Evolution au Muséum d’Histoire Naturelle de Paris, en province et à l’étranger, avec un immense succès auprès du public.

 

Il aura fallu qu’il mette de côté son désir de carrière pianistique pour laisser enfin jaillir toute la musique qui habitait en lui depuis sa plus tendre enfance et à laquelle il n’a jamais prêté l’oreille. Littéralement envahi par des idées musicales il compose sans relâche sans se soucier d’une esthétique quelconque, se laissant guider uniquement par sa voix intérieure.

 Curieux de nature, il s’intéresse également à la Philosophie, à l’Histoire et à la Théologie ainsi qu’à la découverte des civilisations à travers le monde dans un souci d’épanouissement artistique.

 

Amoureux de la voix, il met en musique des poèmes de Baudelaire, Verlaine entre autres, ainsi que des mélodies inspirées des paysages brésiliens pour soprano et piano, baryton et piano...

 

Parmi ses œuvres on peut citer encore:  Rapsodie aux portes du désert pour ténor et orchestre à cordes,  Cycle Antique pour contralto, violoncelle et piano,  Suite Brésilienne pour deux pianos,  Suite Brésilienne pour violoncelle et piano, Pastiche burlesque en forme de Tarentelle pour violon et piano,  Cycle Mystique  pour piano solo, Miroir de femmes douze pièces pour mezzo-soprano et piano,  Miniatures  en deux volumes pour les jeunes pianistes,  Cantate Evolution (dédiée au Professeur Geneviève Meurgues directrice de la Grande Galerie de l’Evolution au Muséum d’histoire Naturelle de Paris) pour chœur, soprano, deux harpes, piano et percussion,  et bien d’autres pièces pour violon, violoncelle, flûte et voix.

Sur sa table de travail, on trouve un Opéra…

 

Le 1er et le 3 juin 2014 le Requiem Chant de lumière, écrit en hommage aux victimes de la catastrophe aérienne Rio-Paris, a réuni 300 choristes et l’Orchestre Français d’Oratorio avec la soprano Julie Cherrier et le baryton Jean-Louis Serre sous la baguette de Jean-Pierre Lo Ré en création mondiale.

 

Le 30 avril 2015 est sorti le CD Voyages avec des œuvres pour piano, violon, violoncelle avec Anton Martynov violon, Daniel Propper piano et Mark Drobinsky violoncelle.

 

Le 21 décembre 2017 le musicologue Alain Duault a présenté, à l'Hôtel Bedford à Paris, le récital Miroir de femmes avec Kira Parfeevets au piano et Anton Martynov au violon entourés des cantatrices : Michelle Canniccioni, Blerta Zhegu, Marion Lebégue, Delphine Haidan  auxquelles s'associeront en 2018, entre autres, Inva Mula, Patrizia Ciofi, Norah Amsellem, David Lefèvre, Jean-François Verdier, pour l'enregistrement du CD Miroir de femmes préfacé et présenté aussi par Alain Duault lors d'un concert au Conservatoire Rachmaninov de Paris le 13 novembre 2018.

 

Sa rencontre avec le biologiste marin Pierre Mollo, spécialiste du Plancton, donne naissance à un projet ambitieux autour d’une Suite Symphonique dédiée à la Mer : La voix des Océans. Cette œuvre a pour vocation la fusion de la musique et de la haute technologie. Elle a été créée le 22 juillet 2018, à l’occasion des 400 ans de la ville royale de Port Louis dans le Morbihan au sein de la Citadelle.  Il y avait 500 personnes invitées, le concert a été salué de « grandiose » « époustouflant » selon les termes de la presse locale Ouest-France et Le Télégramme.

 

Né au Brésil, il obtient à l’âge de 17 ans un 1er prix de Piano, d’Histoire de la musique, d’Harmonie et d’Écriture musicale au Conservatoire Mario de Andrade à Sao Paulo. 

 

Il donne des récitals dans plusieurs villes du Brésil en même temps qu’il se perfectionne avec Alfredo Cerquinho et Magda Tagliaferro, une des plus grandes pianistes et pédagogue du XXème siècle. Il intègre en 1985 le Conservatoire Européen de Paris dans la classe de piano d’Anna Stella Schic. Il travaille également avec Françoise Levechin l’analyse et l’écriture. Soucieux de parfaire ses études théoriques, il se penche sur le Traité de Composition de Vincent D’Indy ainsi que sur les Traités d’orchestration de Berlioz et de Rimsky Korsakov encadré par Michel Philippot.

 

L’Agence LM Opéra est fière et honorée de représenter Maestro Antonio Santana à l’échelle internationale.

TRISTESSE

Deuxième mouvement de la « suite d'été »  | Antonio Santana

sous la direction de Rustem Abyazov et Graf Mourra violon.

EXTRAIT DE CHANT DE LUMIÈRE

Laidanha1 | Antonio Santana chanté par Jean-Louis Serre.

PRÉLUDE

Concert à l'église de la Trinité à Paris.

LA FORÊT D'AMAZONIE

Concert à l'église de la Trinité à Paris.

IL PLEURE DANS MON COEUR

Miroir de femmes  |  Antonio Santana

Blerta Zhegu soprano, Anton Martynov violon, Kyra Parfeevets piano.

SUITE BRÉSILIENNE

Lamento - Miroir de femmes  |  Antonio Santana

Anton Martynov violon, Kyra Parfeevets piano.

SUITE BRÉSILIENNE

Rala Bucho - Miroir de femmes - Antonio Santana

Anton Martynov violon, Kyra Parfeevets piano