LEILA CHALFOUN

Soprano

Born in Quebec, Leila Chalfoun soprano, simultaneously carries out her functions of Director and President-Founder of the FestivalIOpéra de Saint-Eustache des Grandes Laurentides.

Decorated several times for her involvement in the Cultural Milieu of the operatic stage, Mr. Benoit Charette - Minister of Environment and Climate Change Control Including, Deputy of Deux-Montagnes, handed the medal Assembly national to Leila Marie Chalfoun for her contribution and involvement in the Eustachian Cultural Environment as well as a certificate from the National Assembly of Quebec at the FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache des Grandes Laurentides of which she is the Founding Director, in recognition of her contribution invaluable to the quality of life of fellow citizens.

 

She was awarded the Cèdre et Érable prize by the Canada-Lebanon Chamber of Commerce and Industry during their annual gala held on November 28, 2015. She also received the Order of Saint-Eustache On October 23, 2012 and the 2011 Cybèle Prize awarded by the City of Saint-Eustache.

On March 21, 2013, Madame Chalfoun won the Arts and Culture award for "Arab women of Quebec" for all of her achievements in the field of opera as soprano and artistic director.

 

Leila Chalfoun was trained at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal and at the Atelier Lyrique de l'Opéra de Montréal (1990-93) as well as in New York with renowned sopranos such as Mesdames Cécile Vallée-Jalbert, Marie Daveluy, Bonnie Hamilton and the illustrious Diana Soviero. Currently, Leila Chalfoun collaborates with Ghinka Radilova and Claudette Denys. In July 2023, she will present her first Tosca by Puccini, dear to her heart and her art.

Most recently in December 2020, Leila Chalfoun performed with virtual success the “Minuit, Chrétiens” at the midnight mass of the Church of Saint-Eustache. In the summer and fall of 2020 following the announcements of containment due to the Covid-19 pandemic which sadly affected the arts, Leila Chalfoun innovated by still presenting at the FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache, virtual recitals called: "Barbecue" with great success. To this end, she has also sung many times in the open air, in concerts offered to the public in parks, gardens and seniors' residences.

 

In December 2019, Leila successfully presented Christmas concerts on tour in the residences of the elders accompanied by well-known artists from Radio-Canada: pianist Maureen Frawley and host Mario Paquet, in April 2019, she shone in the Recital- Reunion in honor of her master the pianist Claudette Denys at the FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache.

In September 2018, she sang Canada's national anthem during the Grand Opening of Lebanese Diaspora Energy at the Palais des Congrès.

 

Her recent engagements in 2015-16-17 include a performance in tribute to the director of the Opéra de Rimouski Claude-Robin Pelletier during the Grand Concert-Gala, performances at various events in Montreal and Quebec as well as her presence at the FestivalOpéra de St -Eustache in the Lebanese Opera in the presence of mezzo Julie Nesrallah and baritone Fady Jeanbart, the double roles of the baroness of Pictordu (stepmother of Cendrillon and Nelly Melba) in Cendrillon by Pauline Viardot and concerts: ( recital with Gino Quilico and Natalie Choquette ) as well as concerts in the Middle East and on the local scene in Quebec: (Requiem de Fauré / Ensemble Choral St-Eustache (2012), in Austria: (recital at: Kartaus Gaming / Scheibbs- May 29, 2011) as well as on a local tour with her recital “Cosmopolitan Overview” (Sept-Nov 10) then a return to the FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache in July 2011 in “Church scenes at the French opera” where she interpreted the roles of Marguerite (Faust Gounod) and Manon de Massenet, in recital at the “New Year's music Festival de Gstaad” (Switzerland) with the pianist Princess Caroline Murat and gave concerts in Montreal (Salle Oscar Peterson June 2009).

 

She was very successful at the first edition of the FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache (July 2010) in the '' Soirée Offenbach " where she played the roles of Antonia, Giuletta (Les contes d'Hoffmann) and the Grand Duchess of Gerolstein and the Perichole.

 

Since her professional debut at the Opéra de Montréal, her career has quickly taken on an international dimension. At the Monte Carlo Opera, she sang in Menotti's The Consul, under the stage direction of the composer himself. Subsequently, she participated in the Offenbach Evening given in honor of the Birthday of Prince Rainier of Monaco, during which she sang in a duet with Frédérica Von Stade and Gabriel Bacquier. She sang in Italy, at the Catania Festival, in Mexico at the sala de bellas artes, in Montreal, notably on tour with the Orchester Métropolitain under the direction of Joseph Rescigno as part of a tour of the Jeunesses Musicales as well as with the Montreal Philharmonic Society, the New World Symphony Orchestra and concerts at Place des Arts and Salle Pierre Mercure.


At L’Opéra Français de New York, Madame Chalfoun was invited three times by Maestro Yves Abel for the operettas of Offenbach, her great specialty.

She performed in Monte Carlo in the solemn solemn mass (Rossini) for the fifty years of Prince Rainier's reign, La mass de Sainte Cécile (Gounod) and The Seven Words of Christ (Franck) with the choir and orchestra: " I Polifonici di Genova ”. Madame Chalfoun was a soloist in Mozart's Requiem and Handel's Le Messie, notably at the Church of La Madeleine (Paris) and at the Festival du Château de Hautefort (Dordogne). (Sinfonietta from Paris). Leila Chalfoun has performed Gloria by Vivaldi (Théâtre de Poissy, France), Leila Chalfoun has given recitals in Montreal (Salle Pierre Mercure) and in France at the National Library (Mélodies Française d’ailleurs / Salle François Mitterand). This recital was captured by France Culture. Ms. Chalfoun sang in Lebanon at the Al Bustan Festival where she was accompanied by the pianist Alexandre Tharaud, at the Beirut Theater and at the Al Madina Theater.

Facebook

Video

Download her biography

LEILA CHALFOUN

Soprano 

Née au Québec, Leila Chalfoun soprano, mène parallèlement ses fonctions de Directrice et Présidente-Fondatrice du FestivalIOpéra de Saint-Eustache des Grandes Laurentides.

Décorée à plusieurs reprises pour son implication dans le Milieu Culturel de la scène lyrique,  Mr. Benoit Charette – Ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte Contre Les Changements Climatiques, Député de Deux-Montagnes, a remis lmédaille de l'Assemblée nationale à Leila Marie Chalfoun pour sa contribution et son implication dans le Milieu Culturel Eustachois ainsi qu’un certificat de l'Assemblée Nationale du Québec au FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache des Grandes Laurentides dont elle est la Directrice-Fondatrice, en reconnaissance de son apport inestimable à la qualité de vie des concitoyens.

 

Elle a reçu le prix Cèdre et Érable par la Chambre de commerce et d'industrie Canada-Liban à l’occasion de leur grand Gala annuel qui s'est tenu le 28 novembre 2015. Elle a aussi reçu l'Ordre de Saint-Eustache  ​​le 23 octobre 2012 et le Prix Cybèle 2011  ​​décerné par la Ville de Saint-Eustache. 

Le 21 mars 2013, Madame Chalfoun a gagné le prix Arts et Culture de « la femme arabe du Québec » pour l'ensemble de ses réalisations dans le domaine de l'opéra en tant que soprano et directrice artistique.

 

Leila Chalfoun a été formée au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal et à l’Atelier Lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal (1990-93) ainsi qu'à New York auprès de reputés sopranos telles que Mesdames Cécile Vallée-Jalbert, Marie Daveluy, Bonnie Hamilton et l'illustre Diana Soviero. Actuellement, Leila Chalfoun collabore avec Ghinka Radilova et Claudette Denys. Elle présentera en juillet 2023 sa première Tosca de Puccini, chère à son cœur et son art.
 

Tout récemment en décembre 2020, Leila Chalfoun interprétait avec succès virtuellement le « Minuit Chrétien » à la messe de minuit de l’Église de Saint-Eustache. À l’été et automne 2020 suite aux annonces de confinement dû à la pandémie Covid-19 qui a tristement touchée les arts, Leila Chalfoun a innové en présentant tout de même au FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache, des récitals virtuels nommés : « Barbecue » avec grand succès. À cet effet, elle a aussi chanté à maintes reprises en plein air, dans des concerts offerts au public dans les parcs, jardins et résidences des ainés.

 

En décembre 2019, Leila présentait avec succès des concerts de Noël en tournée dans les résidences des ainés accompagnée des artistes bien connus de Radio-Canada : la pianiste Maureen Frawley et l’animateur Mario Paquet, en avril 2019, elle brillait dans le Récital-Retrouvailles en l'honneur de son maître la pianiste Claudette Denys au FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache. 

En septembre 2018, elle chantait l'hymne national du Canada lors de la Grande ouverture de Lebanese Diaspora Energy au Palais des Congrès.

 

Ses récents engagements en 2015-16-17 incluent une prestation en hommage au directeur de l'Opéra de Rimouski Claude-Robin Pelletier lors du Grand Concert-Gala, des prestations à différents événements  à Montréal et Québec ainsi que sa présence au FestivalOpéra de St-Eustache dans l'Opéra à la libanaise en présence de la mezzo Julie Nesrallah et du baryton Fady Jeanbart, les doubles rôles de la baronne de Pictordu ( belle-mère de Cendrillon et Nelly Melba) dans Cendrillon de Pauline Viardot  et des concerts : (récital avec Gino Quilico  et Natalie Choquette) ainsi que des concerts au moyen-orient et sur la scène locale au Québec : ( Requiem de Fauré/ Ensemble Choral St-Eustache ( 2012), en  Autriche: (récital à : Kartaus Gaming/ Scheibbs-29 mai 2011) ainsi qu’en tournée locale avec son récital « Survol Cosmopolite" (sept- nov 10) puis un retour au FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache en juillet 2011 dans "Les scènes d'église à l'opéra français » où elle interpretait les rôles de Marguerite ( Faust Gounod) et Manon de Massenet, en récital au «New Year’s music Festival de Gstaad» (Suisse) avec la pianiste princesse Caroline Murat et a donné des concerts à Montréal (Salle Oscar Peterson juin 2009).

Elle a obtenu un grand succès lors de la première édition du FestivalOpéra de Saint-Eustache (juil. 2010) dans la ''Soirée Offenbach" ou elle incarnait les rôles d'Antonia, Giuletta ( Les contes d'Hoffmann) et la Grande duchesse de Gerolstein et la Périchole.



Depuis son début professionnel à l‘Opéra de Montréal  sa carrière a rapidement pris une envergure internationale. À l’Opéra de Monte Carlo, elle a chanté dans The Consul de Menotti, sous la direction scénique du compositeur lui-même. Ultérieurement, elle a participé à la Soirée Offenbach donnée en l’honneur de l’Anniversaire du Prince Rainier de Monaco lors de laquelle, elle a chanté en duo avec Frédérica Von Stade et Gabriel Bacquier. Elle a chanté en en Italie, au Festival de Catania, au Mexique à la sala de bellas artes,  à Montréal notamment en tournée avec l’Orchestre Métropolitain sous la direction de Joseph Rescigno dans le cadre d’une tournée des Jeunesses Musicales ainsi qu'avec la Société Philharmonique de Montréal,  l'Orchestre Symphonique du Nouveau Monde et des concerts à la Place des Arts et à la salle Pierre Mercure.


À l’Opéra Français de New York, Madame Chalfoun fut invitée à trois reprises par Maestro Yves Abel pour les opérettes d'Offenbach, sa grande spécialité.

Elle s’est produite à Monte Carlo dans la petite messe solennelle (Rossini) pour les cinquante ans de règne du Prince Rainier, La messe de Sainte Cécile (Gounod) et Les sept paroles du Christ (Franck) avec le choeur et orchestre: « I Polifonici di Genova ». Madame Chalfoun a été soliste du Requiem de Mozart et Le Messie de Handel notamment à l’église de La Madeleine (Paris) et au Festival du Château de Hautefort (Dordogne). (Sinfonietta de Paris). Leila Chalfoun a interprété le Gloria de Vivaldi (Théâtre de Poissy, France), Leila Chalfoun a donné des récitals à Montréal (Salle Pierre Mercure) et en France à la Bibliothèque Nationale (Mélodies Françaises d’ailleurs/ salle François Mitterand). Ce récital fut capté par France Culture.  Mme. Chalfoun a chanté au Liban au Festival Al Bustan ou elle est était accompagnée par le pianiste Alexandre Tharaud, au Théâtre de Beyrouth et au Théâtre Al Madina.​

facebook

Vidéo

Téléchargez sa biographie